Cross Country Chase Trends

This race was introduced in 2005, when it was a handicap. In 2016, it became a conditions race.

Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2017 Cause of Causes 9 Mr Jamie Codd Gordon Elliott
2016 Josies Orders 8 Miss Nina Carberry Enda Bolger
2015 Rivage d’Or 10 Davy Russell Tony Martin
2014 Balthazar King 10 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2013 Big Shu 8 Barry Cash Peter Maher
2012 Balthazar King 8 Richard Johnson Philip Hobbs
2011 Sizing Australia 9 Andrew Lynch Henry De Bromhead
2010 A New Story 12 Adrian Heskin Michael Hourigan
2009 Garde Champetre 10 Miss Nina Carberry Enda Bolger
2008 Garde Champetre 9 Miss Nina Carberry Enda Bolger

Key Trends

  1. 10 of the last 10 winners (and all 13 of the winners to date) had previously won over 3m or further.
  2. 10 of the last 10 winners had had 6 or less previous starts in cross-country chases.
    Any Currency was an exception to this trend when he won in 2016, but he was subsequently disqualified.
  3. 8 of the last 10 winners were Irish-trained.
    These horses accounted for 57% of the total field, but made up 81% of the total places.
  4. 7 of the last 10 winners had at least placed in a cross-country chase at either Cheltenham or Punchestown.
    One exception was Cause Of Causes last year, who had finished 5th at Cheltenham in January and allegedly spent a few days schooling over these obstacles. Another was Balthazar King in 2012, who had been running well when he ran out at Cheltenham the previous December.


%d bloggers like this: