Ryanair Chase Trends

Past Winners

Year Winner Age Jockey Trainer
2017 Un de Sceaux 9 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2016 Vautour 7 Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
2015 Uxizandre 7 Tony McCoy Alan King
2014 Dynaste 8 Tom Scudamore David Pipe
2013 Cue Card 7 Joe Tizzard Colin Tizzard
2012 Riverside Theatre 8 Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson
2011 Albertas Run 10 Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
2010 Albertas Run 9 Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
2009 Imperial Commander 8 Paddy Brennan Nigel Twiston-Davies
2008 Our Vic 10 Timmy Murphy David Pipe


Key Trends

  1. 9 of the last 10 winners (including the last 8) had already won a grade 1 chase.
    The only exception was Imperial Commander in 2009.
  2. 9 of the last 10 winners (including the last 8) were officially rated 161 or higher.
    Again, Imperial Commander was the exception. Aso (3rd last year) was the first of the 30 horses to finish in the top 3 in the last 10 years with an official rating of less than 155.
  3. 6 of the last 10 finished in the top 2 last time out.
    Of the 4 exceptions, 3 were unplaced in the King George (Dynaste in 2014, Albertas Run in 2010 and Imperial Commander in 2009).
  4. 9 of the last 10 winners were course winners.
    The exception was Riverside Theatre in 2012.
  5. All of the last 10 winners had previously run at the festival.
  6. 8 of the last 10 winners had won a chase at the course.
    The exceptions were Riverside Theatre and Cue Card, who was 2nd in an Arkle to Sprinter Sacre.

Other Trends

  1. The last 4 winners have all been French-bred (the 6 before that weren’t) and French-bred horses have punched above their weight over the last 10 years, filling 47% of the places from 36% of the total field.


%d bloggers like this: